Finalists chosen for AK Steel Self-Reliance Awards



ASHLAND The Ashland Breakfast Kiwanis Club has chosen finalists for the 62nd annual AK Steel Self-Reliance Awards.

The awards will be presented to eight of the 17 finalists Sunday.  Sponsored by the AK Steel Foundation, the awards salute high school seniors who have displayed self-reliance and time management skills.


The award was established in 1955 by W.W. Sebald, who was president of Armco Steel Corp., the predecessor to AK Steel.

Finalists include:

Molly Baldock, Paul G. Blazer

Peyton Cantrell, Russell

Ashby Foutch, Paul G. Blazer

Kaitlyn Hall, Paul G. Blazer

Mackenzie Humphrey, Fairview

Tessa Jacobs, Fairview

Camryn Neely, Boyd County

Josey Owens, Russell

Carley Patton, Russell

Seth Adkins, Russell

Riad Abul- Khoudoud, Russell

James Barber, Rose Hill

Spencer Brumfield, Boyd County

Micheal DeHart, Russell

Kyle Gibson, Boyd County

Robert Miller, Fairview

Grant Murphy, Rose Hill


The eight winners, four male and four female, will receive cash awards. First place winners receive $1,250, second place $1,000, third place $750 and fourth place $500.

Back to School News      Print News Article