EKC Tennis Championships



MOREHEAD Russell produced a pair of champions while East Carter and Morgan County made some noise, too, in the Eastern Kentucky Conference Tennis Championships on Wednesday at Morehead State University.

The most riveting match occurred in the girls doubles portion of the tournament. East Carter’s Milena Clarke and Makenzie Hayes battled back after falling in the first set to eliminate Russell’s Claudia Kendrick and Mia Ferguson, 2-6, 7-5, 10-6. Russell had won this same matchup earlier this season on its home court.

Tied 3-3 in the super tiebreaker, Clarke and Hayes went on a furious run to claim five of the next six points. The Lady Raider duo emerged, 10-6.

It marked the third EKC doubles title for Hayes. It was Clarke’s first.

Russell’s Chandler Nguyen was the boys singles winner. After dominating the first three rounds, he beat Ashton Whitt (Morgan Co.), 60, 6-3. He took down Rowan County’s Braiden Thacker in the semifinals.

Wes Patterson and Michael Eastham were boys doubles champions, outlasting Rowan County’s Kidd/Barber duo, 7-5, 6-4, on Wednesday. They also toppled Morgan County’s top pair (Kemplin/Gevedon) in the semifinals.

Morgan County junior Ashton Jones defeated East Carter seventh-grader Maria Hayes, 61, 6-0, to capture the girls singles title.

Russell’s boys seized a team crown. East Carter and Morgan County tied for the girls championship.

Back to School News      Print News Article